Perth Scorchers
Brisbane Heat

Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat, 5th Match BBL 2021/22 – Who Will Win Today’s Match?

08 Dec 2021, Optus Stadium, Big Bash League 11
Perth Scorchers win by 6 runs
Home TeamPerth Scorchers
Away TeamBrisbane Heat
SeriesBig Bash League 11
UmpiresGerard Abood
Simon Lightbody
David Taylor
Match RefereeStephen Bernard

Scorchers to the BBL 11 @5.00

Visit Betway for more World Cup odds

Match Odds

Select your favourite cricket match markets; click on the sports betting site image for bonus details.

Match Prediction – PS vs BH, 5th Match BBL 2021/22 – Who Will Win Today’s Match?

Perth Scorchers will take on Brisbane Heat in the fifth match of the Big Bash League (BBL). Both sides made it to the playoffs of the competition last season and repeating the same would be on top of their priority list this season too.

Perth Scorchers had a fantastic campaign in 2020/21. They finished just short of Sydney Sixers at the top of the table in the league. With eight wins from 14 matches and a healthy NRR of +0.851, their route to the knockouts turned out to be smooth. Perth Scorchers contested the final of BBL 10 with Sydney Sixers but ended up falling short on the final step. They’d look to go all the way this season.

With seven wins from 14 matches, Brisbane Heat had amassed 29 points in the league last season and managed to qualify for the playoffs. They defeated Adelaide Strikers in the eliminator by six wickets and also beat Sydney Thunder in the knockout game by seven wickets. However, they lost their challenger fixture to Perth Scorchers and would love to exact revenge here. Brisbane Heat took on Sydney Thunder in their first match of the campaign this season and ended up on the losing side.

As far as the head-to-head record is concerned, Perth Scorchers are marginally better. Scorchers have won nine games while Brisbane Heat have seven wins to their name. The two sides squared off thrice last season with Scorchers coming out on top twice.

Head-to-head record

Wins: Perth Scorchers 9, Brisbane Heat 7

Last 5 matches: Perth Scorchers 4, Brisbane Heat 1

Cricket Betting has the latest BBL match prediction, complete with match betting tips, toss prediction, latest team lineup, head to heads and odds checker.

Who will win today’s match?

Perth Scorchers are one of the most prestigious sides in the history of the competition. They’ve won the title thrice and have also finished runners-up on three occasions. Scorchers have a strong squad on paper this time around as well and have gotten the better of Brisbane Heat multiple times in the recent past. They are the favourites to win this game as well.

Team News Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat, 5th Match BBL 2021/22

Australia’s hero from the T20 World Cup final Mitchell Marsh and Josh Inglish are unavailable for selection as they will be busy with Australia A duty. Marquee signing English bowler Tymal Mills is also in quarantine having recently arrived from Abu Dhabi.

Brisbane Heat have retained the same squad of 14 players that were announced prior to the game against Sydney Thunder.

Perth Scorchers will miss several key players in this game. However, the quality of senior players like Ashton Agar, Ashton Turner, Cameron Bancroft and Colin Munro is likely to see them through in this game. Agar’s spell especially could prove to be crucial on this wicket and he’s also decent with the bat in hand.

Chris Lynn is one of the fiercest hitters of the ball in world cricket and much of Brisbane Heat’s hopes will rely on him once again. Afghan spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman is a world-class bowler and he will be eyeing his first wickets of the season here.

Chris Lynn and Colin Munro will be leading the batting arsenal for their respective sides in the tournament. Meanwhile, Mujeeb Ur Rahman would want to have a greater influence on this match compared to the first game where he went wicketless.

Who will be the best match bowler?

Mujeeb might’ve gone without a wicket in the first match against Sydney Thunder but his spell was extremely tight. He conceded just 25 runs in his four overs. In BBL 10, he had picked up 14 wickets in eight innings and had an outstanding economy rate of 6.27.

Who will win today’s man of the match?

Chris Lynn, Colin Munro and Ben Duckett are the most probable candidates to win the Man of the Match award in this game.

Who will be the best batsman for Perth Scorchers?

Colin Munro had a decent Big Bash League campaign last season. Playing for the eventual champions Sydney Sixers, he had amassed 443 runs in 15 innings. Munro had an average of 31.64 and a strike rate of 128.03.

Who will be the best batsman for Brisbane Heat?

Chris Lynn was sensational for Brisbane Heat in BBL 10. In 13 innings, he had accrued 458 runs at an average of 35.23. Lynn had five half-centuries to his name last season and his strike rate of 154.73 makes him one of the most potent batters in the entire competition.

Match Scorecard

  • Scorecard
    BATSMEN R B 4s 6s SR
    Colin Munro b Liam Guthrie 3 5 0 0 60
    Cameron Bancroft b James Bazley 25 21 4 0 119.05
    Kurtis Patterson c Ben Duckett b Cameron Gannon 55 30 6 2 183.33
    Laurie Evans not out 33 33 2 0 100
    Ashton Turner c Tom Cooper b Mujeeb Ur Rahman 28 19 1 2 147.37
    Aaron Hardie c Jimmy Peirson b Cameron Gannon 5 6 0 0 83.33
    Ashton Agar c Jimmy Peirson b Xavier Bartlett 2 4 0 0 50
    Andrew Tye not out 1 2 0 0 50
    Total (20 Ov, RR: 7.84) 157/6
    Xavier Bartlett 4 0 34 1 8.5 1 0
    Liam Guthrie 4 0 40 1 10 0 0
    Mujeeb Ur Rahman 4 0 23 1 5.75 0 0
    James Bazley 4 0 27 1 6.75 2 0
    Cameron Gannon 4 0 32 2 8 1 0
    BATSMEN R B 4s 6s SR
    Chris Lynn c Aaron Hardie b Ashton Agar 27 33 2 0 81.82
    Max Bryant c Laurie Evans b Matthew Kelly 2 5 0 0 40
    Ben Duckett b Matthew Kelly 1 5 0 0 20
    Sam Heazlett c Matthew Kelly b Andrew Tye 34 17 2 3 200
    Jimmy Peirson c Kurtis Patterson b Andrew Tye 6 11 0 0 54.55
    Tom Cooper c Jason Behrendorff b Peter Hatzoglou 13 7 3 0 185.71
    James Bazley b Jason Behrendorff 14 7 0 2 200
    Xavier Bartlett not out 34 25 5 0 136
    Cameron Gannon c Cameron Bancroft b Matthew Kelly 1 3 0 0 33.33
    Mujeeb Ur Rahman b Matthew Kelly 0 1 0 0 0
    Liam Guthrie run out (Aaron Hardie) 6 6 1 0 100
    Total (19.5 Ov, RR: 7.74) 151/10
    Jason Behrendorff 3 0 31 1 10.33 0 1
    Matthew Kelly 4 0 28 4 7 2 0
    Peter Hatzoglou 4 0 40 1 10 5 0
    Ashton Agar 4 0 16 1 4 0 0
    Andrew Tye 4 0 32 2 8 1 0
  • Match Details
  • Home TeamPerth Scorchers
    Away TeamBrisbane Heat
    SeriesBig Bash League 11
    UmpiresGerard Abood
    Simon Lightbody
    David Taylor
    Match RefereeStephen Bernard

Team Lineup

Perth Scorchers Brisbane Heat
Colin Munro
Cameron Bancroft
Kurtis Patterson
Laurie Evans
Ashton Turner
Aaron Hardie
Ashton Agar
Andrew Tye
Matthew Kelly
Jason Behrendorff
Peter Hatzoglou
Chris Lynn
Max Bryant
Ben Duckett
Sam Heazlett
Jimmy Peirson
Tom Cooper
James Bazley
Xavier Bartlett
Cameron Gannon
Mujeeb Ur Rahman
Liam Guthrie

Our Recommended Sportsbooks

Select your favourite cricket match markets; click on the sports betting site to get the bonus are start betting today.

₹1 Lakh Welcome Pack
100% up to ₹30,000 bonus on your 1st deposit
Terms apply, 18+
Claim Offer Read review
$50 Free Bet up for grabs, for FREE.
Just answer 4 easy cricket related questions
Entry requirement applies, check Terms and Conditions for more information.
Claim Offer Read review
100% Bonus Up To ₹8000
This offer is only available to new customers, who have registered and made their first real-money deposit at Wazamba
Claim Offer Read review