IPL 2021 Suspended

Cricket COVID-19 crisis

The suspension of the IPL 2021 follows several positive Covid-19 cases across teams since Sunday. BCCI Vice-President Rajeev Shukla and IPL chairman Brijesh Patel confirmed the decision.

We expect the IPL to be cancelled

Cricket Betting

Updated 05/05/2021 1136 GMT GMT (1706 IST)

  • Indian cricket board is exploring the possibility of holding the remaining 31 matches of the IPL after the World T20 in October-November.
  • CSA supports the decision to put the health and safety interests of all involved in the tournament first and foremost and has made contact with all of the relevant franchises to ensure the expedited travel of all South African players and support staff back to our shores.
  • Michael Slater continues his twitter barrage against the Aussie PM.

Updated 1519 GMT GMT (2049 IST)

  • “One thing I want to make very clear – it has not been cancelled. It has been postponed, suspended and deferred. The remaining part of this IPL will happen. In due course, when the Covid situation improves, a decision will be taken about it,” BCCI vuce president Rajeev Shukla told Star Sports.
  • Delhi Capitals’ Sam Billings and Chris Woakes are already on their way to England and the remaing English players are expected to leave within days
  • 40 strong Australian contingent have found a way to fly out of India via the Maldives “Once we flew out of Australia we knew we’d signed up for 14 days quarantine coming home so you feel a bit further from getting home, but when the hard border shut no one has ever experienced that before,” Cummins told The Back Page on Fox Sports.

Updated 1034 GMT (1504 IST)

  • Rumours are circulating of a planned September restart – just prior to the T20 World Cup due to be hosted in India in October

Updated 1019 GMT (1549 IST)

  • Sunrisers, Delhi Capital, KKR, Mumbai and CSK all in quarantine
  • Travel update
    • Australian ban on all flights from India
    • Kiwis,can still fly out to New Zealand as can the English cricketers, but they will have to quarantine in govt. specified hotels for 10 days and undergo tests on the 2nd and the 8th day.
    • Most transit flights are from UAE which is currently suspended
    • Bangladesh cricketers can travel to the border by road if need be with air route suspended.  

Updated 0810 GMT (1340 IST)

  • Rajeev Shukla to CNN “All the office bearers and council members have together decided after talking to all stakeholders including the franchises and broadcasters that for now it should be suspended. A decision will be made in the coming days on whether to resume the IPL
  • 4 teams with active Covid-19 cases currently.
  • Amit Mishra also has tested positive as per reports.
  • SRH’s Wriddhiman Saha test positive.
  • Following Warrier testing positive the entire KKR camp is now in immediate quarantine in their Ahmedabad hotel.
  • BCCI considering move to Mumbai
  • September 2021 World Cup in India

IPL Media Advisory

Ahmedabad: May 4, 2021

VIVO IPL 2021 Postponed

The Indian Premier League Governing Council (IPL GC) and Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in an emergency meeting has unanimously decided to postpone IPL 2021 season, with immediate effect.

The BCCI does not want to compromise on the safety of the players, support staff and the other participants involved in organising the IPL. This decision was taken keeping the safety, health and wellbeing of all the stakeholders in mind.

These are difficult times, especially in India and while we have tried to bring in some positivity and cheer, however, it is imperative that the tournament is now suspended and everyone goes back to their families and loved ones in these trying times.

The BCCI will do everything in its powers to arrange for the secure and safe passage of all the participants in IPL 2021.

The BCCI would like to thank all the healthcare workers, state associations, players, support staff, franchises, sponsors, partners and all the service providers who have tried their best to organise IPL 2021 even in these extremely difficult times.

IPL

Could the IPL move to the UAE?

top