South Africa

India vs South Africa, 1st T20I 2022 – Who Will Win Today’s Match?

09 Jun 2022, Arun Jaitley Stadium, India v South Africa T20I Series 2022
South Africa win by 7 wickets
  • India will be rotating players heavily and many of their best players are rested
  • No KL Rahul for India
  • South Africa to win

Live Score

  • Scorecard
    BATSMEN R B 4s 6s SR
    Ishan Kishan c Tristan Stubbs b Keshav Maharaj 76 48 11 3 158.33
    Ruturaj Gaikwad c Temba Bavuma b Wayne Parnell 23 15 0 3 153.33
    Shreyas Iyer b Dwaine Pretorius 36 27 1 3 133.33
    Rishabh Pant c Rassie van der Dussen b Anrich Nortje 29 16 2 2 181.25
    Hardik Pandya not out 31 12 2 3 258.33
    Dinesh Karthik not out 1 2 0 0 50
    Total (20 Ov, RR: 10.55) 211/4
    Keshav Maharaj 3 0 43 1 14.33 1 0
    Kagiso Rabada 4 0 35 0 8.75 4 0
    Anrich Nortje 4 0 36 1 9 0 0
    Wayne Parnell 4 0 32 1 8 0 0
    Tabraiz Shamsi 2 0 27 0 13.5 1 0
    Dwaine Pretorius 3 0 35 1 11.66 1 0
    BATSMEN R B 4s 6s SR
    Quinton de Kock c Ishan Kishan b Axar Patel 22 18 3 0 122.22
    Temba Bavuma c Rishabh Pant b Bhuvneshwar Kumar 10 8 2 0 125
    Dwaine Pretorius b Harshal Patel 29 13 1 4 223.08
    Rassie van der Dussen not out 75 46 7 5 163.04
    David Miller not out 64 31 4 5 206.45
    Total (19.1 Ov, RR: 11.09) 212/3
    Bhuvneshwar Kumar 4 0 43 1 10.75 1 0
    Avesh Khan 4 0 35 0 8.75 2 1
    Yuzvendra Chahal 2 0 26 0 13 0 0
    Hardik Pandya 1 0 18 0 18 0 0
    Harshal Patel 4 0 43 1 10.75 0 0
    Axar Patel 4 0 40 1 10 0 0
  • Match Details
  • Home TeamIndia
    Away TeamSouth Africa
    SeriesIndia v South Africa T20I Series 2022
    UmpiresJayaraman Madanagopal
    Virender Sharma
    Karumanaseri Ananthapadmanabhan
    Match RefereeJavagal Srinath
10cric india vs sa

Match Odds

Select your favourite cricket match odds and click on the image for bonus details.

Match Prediction – India vs South Africa, 1st T20I 2022 – Who Will Win Today’s Match?

The craze and madness of the two-month IPL experience has now subsided. It’s time for Indian fans to focus once again on the Indian national team who have scores to settle as they pay host to South Africa for a five-match T20I series. The first of the five T20Is will be held at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

When the Men in Blue take to the field against South Africa in the T20I series, there’s surely some element of vengeance that will be playing on their minds. Team India were defeated 2-1 in the Test Series on their visit of the Rainbow Nation towards the end of last year before being humbled in a 3-0 ODI whitewash.

The Men in Blue didn’t take long to bounce back following those disappointing encounters and have been undefeated since. They hosted West Indies and Sri Lanka in limited-overs series before the focus shifted to the Indian Premier League that ran for nearly two months between March and May.

One can expect an experimental approach from India during the upcoming series as the senior players have been rested. KL Rahul is leading the side while the returns of Dinesh Karthik and IPL-winning leader Hardik Pandya are exciting news for Indian fans. Both of them have been in terrific form recently and will want to cement their place in the XI once again. In the bowling unit, new faces in Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh promise plenty of pace, precision and panache.

Following the success against India on home soil, South Africa will undoubtedly have the psychological upper hand. Victories against India were followed by a two-match Test series against New Zealand as well as a multi-format series against Bangladesh.

The Proteas drew the Test series with New Zealand 1-1 after winning the second match by 198 runs. They then got the better of Bangladesh 2-1 in the ODI series before crushing them comfortably and recording a 2-0 whitewash during the Test series.

South Africa will be led by Temba Bavuma as usual and Quinton de Kock was in astounding form during the IPL and will be hoping to repeat his exploits. David Miller is going through a purple patch in his career and he proved to be a genuine match-winner for champions Gujarat Titans. Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje are always consistent while Rassie van der Dussen had a good time batting against India on home soil earlier this year.

South Africa and India have played 15 T20I matches against each other. India have won nine matches while South Africa have six wins to their name.

Head-to-head record

Wins: India 9, South Africa 6

Last 5 matches: India 2, South Africa 2

Who will win today’s match – India vs South Africa, 1st T20I, South Africa’s Tour of India?

Given the fact that India will be rotating heavily and many of their best players haven’t been included in the squad, one can expect South Africa to win this contest. Players like David Miller, Quinton de Kock, and Rassie van der Dussen can inflict a lot of damage.

Game changers for India vs South Africa, 1st T20I, South Africa’s Tour of India

For India, batters like KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant are expected to have a major impact. Hardik Pandya has also been batting and bowling at a very high level and India will be hoping he proves to be the X factor once again. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal are familiar faces in the bowling lineup.

Quinton de Kock and David Miller will be hoping to continue with the form that they had been in during IPL 2022. Aiden Markram and Rassie van der Dussen are also capable hitters of the ball. Meanwhile, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi and Tabraiz Shamsi constitutes a strong bowling unit.

Ishan Kishan – Top Batsman India @6.00

PariMatch tips – IND VS SA

Avesh Khan – India Top Bowler @3.75

Betway tips – IND VS SA

Who will be the best match bowler?

Yuzvendra Chahal was one of the best performers in IPL 2022 and he ended up winning the Purple Cap for his exploits with Rajasthan Royals. Chahal has played 54 T20Is and has scalped 68 wickets at an average of over 25.

Yuzvendra Chahal India Top Bowler @3.60

Yuzvendra Chahal was the IPL 2022 Purple Cap winner

Who will win today’s man of the match?

Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant and Yuzvendra Chahal are the likely candidates to win the man of the match award for the hosts. For South Africa, Quinton de Kock, David Miller, and Kagiso Rabada could be key.

Who will be the best batsman for India?

KL Rahul is coming off the back of yet another successful IPL campaign from a personal perspective. He made 616 runs in 15 matches at an average of 51.33 and also slammed two centuries.

Who will be the best batsman for South Africa?

Quinton de Kock is unstoppable when he is in form and he also had a productive IPL campaign where he did plenty of damage with his opening partner KL Rahul. De Kock has amassed 1827 runs in 61 T20Is at an average of 33.83 and has a strike rate of over 135.

View more match prediction reviews, complete with latest team lineup, head to head analysis and odds checker

Team Lineup

India South Africa
Ishan Kishan
Ruturaj Gaikwad
Shreyas Iyer
Rishabh Pant
Hardik Pandya
Dinesh Karthik
Axar Patel
Harshal Patel
Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Yuzvendra Chahal
Avesh Khan
Temba Bavuma
Quinton de Kock
Rassie van der Dussen
David Miller
Tristan Stubbs
Dwaine Pretorius
Wayne Parnell
Kagiso Rabada
Keshav Maharaj
Anrich Nortje
Tabraiz Shamsi

Our Recommended Cricket Betting Sites

View more top cricket bet websites