Tamil Nadu
153/6 (20 ov, target 152)

Tamil Nadu vs Karnataka, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021

22 Nov 2021, Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021
Tamil Nadu won by 4 wkts (0b rem)

It is the repeat of the 2019-20 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy final as Tamil Nadu lock horns against Karnataka in a high-octane final of the 2021-22 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy final. Two years back, it was the Manish Pandey-led Karnataka side that emerged victorious in a nail-biting encounter. That was their second successive Syed Mushtaq Ali title win. That makes it three finals in four years for Karnataka. Meanwhile, Tamil Nadu have been supremely consistent as well. This is their third consecutive final in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and they are the current defending champions.

As far as the head to head record is concerned, Karnataka have the wood over Tamil Nadu in the shortest format. They have won six while Tamil Nadu have only three wins. Even in the last five encounters between these two sides, Karnataka lead 4-1.

Head-to-head record

Wins: Tamil Nadu 3, Karnataka 6

Last 5 matches: Tamil Nadu 1, Karnataka 4

TossTamil Nadu, elected to field first
Home TeamTamil Nadu
Away TeamKarnataka
SeriesSyed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021
UmpiresPashchim Pathak
Chirra Ravikanthreddy
Vineet Kulkarni
Match RefereeP Ranganathan

Match Odds

Select your favourite cricket match markets; click on the sports betting site image for bonus details.

Who will win today’s match?

Karnataka may have the edge over Tamil Nadu when it comes to head to head records. However, both teams are in excellent form this season. Tamil Nadu’s journey has been a rather clinical one while Karnataka have scraped through a few games where they got out of jail and held their nerve to end up on the winning side. Thus, it is going to be an extremely tight contest to predict ahead of the game. No team starts as clear favourites.

Team News

Karnataka have been playing without a few of their mainstays like Mayank Agarwal, Devdutt Padikkal, Krishnappa Gowtham and Prasidh Krishna. Agarwal and Krishna are in the Indian Test squad that will face New Zealand in a few days’ time while Gowtham and Padikkal are a part of the India ‘A’ squad that has travelled to South Africa for three four-day games. Baba Aparajith is also a part of the India ‘A’ side and has missed the last few games for Tamil Nadu. Hence, none of the teams are likely to tinker with the combination that played in their respective semi-final encounters.

Cricket Tips

Karnataka and Tamil Nadu have both lost just one game each in this season’s Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Karnataka’s only loss came against Bengal in the last group stage game while Tamil Nadu went down against Goa in their fourth group stage encounter.

Karnataka’s bowling is quite inexperienced, especially their pace attack who have a combined experience of 14 T20s so far. But they have managed to punch above their weight and get the job done. Their batting does look pretty good with the experience of Manish Pandey and Karun Nair leading the way. On the other hand, Tamil Nadu’s bowling unit has fired in unison while the batting has been pretty good as well. They’ve found different players standing up at various junctures as well.

Game changers for Tamil Nadu v Karnataka

KC Cariappa has been superb for Karnataka with the ball and he could be a potential X-factor among the bowlers. Meanwhile, Vijay Shankar’s consistency has been top-notch for Tamil Nadu as well and he could be a game-changer for his side.

Who will be the best match bowler?

KC Cariappa might be the bowler to watch out for. The 27-year-old Bangalore-born mystery spinner has 10 wickets to his name and has conceded runs at an economy rate of just 5.62.

Who will win today’s man of the match?

Manish Pandey has been a big-match player for Karnataka and has led from the front more often than not. He got 54 in the semi-final against Vidarbha this season. Two years back, in the final against Tamil Nadu, he scored a 45-ball 60. R Sai Kishore      has been a silent performer for Tamil Nadu so far this season and he could turn up with a special performance in the title-clash.

Pandey Total Runs Over 25.5 @1.83

More Odds at Betway

Who will be the best batsman for Tamil Nadu?

Vijay Shankar has been getting substantial scores consistently. The Tamil Nadu skipper has scores of 42 not out, 4, 59 not out, 33 and 43 not out so far in this tournament.

Who will be the best batsman for Karnataka?

Manish Pandey is at the top of the run charts for Karnataka this season. He has amassed 259 runs and could be their best batsman in this game as well.

Match Scorecard

  • Scorecard
  • Karnataka Innings
    BATSMEN R B 4s 6s SR
    Rohan Kadam b Sai Kishore 0 2 0 0 0.00
    Manish Pandey b Sai Kishore 13 15 2 0 86.66
    Karun Nair b Sanjay Yadav 18 14 2 0 128.57
    BR Sharath c Sai Sudharsan b Sai Kishore 16 20 1 0 80.00
    Abhinav Manohar c Mohammed b Sandeep Warrier 46 37 4 2 124.32
    Praveen Dubey c sub (M Siddarth) b Natarajan 33 25 3 1 132.00
    Jagadeesha Suchith run out (Mohammed/Natarajan) 18 7 1 1 257.14
    Total (20 Ov) 151/7
    Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Rohan Kadam, 1.1 ov), 2-32 (Karun Nair, 4.6 ov), 3-32 (Manish Pandey, 5.1 ov), 4-87 (BR Sharath, 13.2 ov), 5-108 (Abhinav Manohar, 16.4 ov), 6-149 (Praveen Dubey, 19.5 ov), 7-151 (Jagadeesha Suchith, 19.6 ov)
    Sandeep Warrier 4 0 34 1 8.50 0 0
    Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore 4 0 12 3 3.00 0 0
    Sanjay Yadav 4 0 32 1 8.00 2 0
    Murugan Ashwin 4 0 28 0 7.00 0 0
    T Natarajan 4 0 44 1 11.00 4 0
    Tamil Nadu Innings
    BATSMEN R B 4s 6s SR
    Hari Nishaanth run out (Patil/Sharath) 23 12 1 2 191.66
    Narayan Jagadeesan c Suchith b Cariappa 41 46 2 1 89.13
    Sai Sudharsan lbw b Nair 9 12 0 0 75.00
    Vijay Shankar c Suchith b Cariappa 18 22 0 0 81.81
    Sanjay Yadav c Manohar b Jain 5 5 1 0 100.00
    Shahrukh Khan not out 33 15 1 3 220.00
    M Mohammed c Pandey b Patil 5 5 0 0 100.00
    Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore not out 6 3 1 0 200.00
    Total (20 Ov) 153/6
    Fall of wickets: 1-29 (Hari Nishaanth, 3.5 ov), 2-51 (Sai Sudharsan, 7.4 ov), 3-95 (Vijay Shankar, 15.1 ov), 4-95 (Narayan Jagadeesan, 15.2 ov), 5-116 (Sanjay Yadav, 17.1 ov), 6-130 (M Mohammed, 18.5 ov)
    Jagadeesha Suchith 4 0 33 0 8.25 1 6
    KC Cariappa 4 0 23 2 5.75 1 11
    Prateek Jain 4 0 34 1 8.50 3 5
    Vidyadhar Patil 3 0 21 1 7.00 0 6
    MB Darshan 3 0 30 0 10.00 2 3
    Karun Nair 1 0 2 1 2.00 0 4
    Praveen Dubey 1 0 4 0 4.00 0 2
  • Match Details
  • TossTamil Nadu, elected to field first
    Home TeamTamil Nadu
    Away TeamKarnataka
    SeriesSyed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021
    UmpiresPashchim Pathak
    Chirra Ravikanthreddy
    Vineet Kulkarni
    Match RefereeP Ranganathan

Team Lineup

Coming soon…

Our Recommended Sportsbooks

5% Top Up Bonus on ALL your Deposits
Deposit With Astropay And Play On 1000’s Of Pre-Match And Live Betting Odds Markets
Wager 3x the offer until the Wager Bar is full.
Claim Offer Read review
100% up to 8000 INR
PLus a 50% Reload Bonus Per Week
Claim Today Read review